counting down the days until rainy season // 6.1.15

is it really june? what is happening? time is going so weirdly fast.

how are you all? thanks for emailing me! so glad to hear that dad is ok…hope the coming news is good news too. i pray for you all the time. so grateful for the tender mercies our families experiences. the Lord is so mindful of us! and for that i am so grateful!

this week was good, but hot. it rained finally yesterday. but not for long. long enough to stop sweating for a few minutes though so that was nice 🙂 hey can someone let me know what the average daily temp/humidity is here? in palompon, leyte. thanks!

well this week was for the books. we work really really hard. so tired at the end of everyday. we teach 40+ lessons every week.

  • awkward: ok let me preface this one by saying that i literally have not ever had such a hilarious/awkward/unbelievable experience yet on my mission. ok. so we were at a bakery, buying a cake for some RCs who are about to hit their year mark! while waiting, i start to talk to the man in front of me in line. just trying to fulfill my missionary duty to talk to everyone! the man is fairly old, in his 60s, and even though i’m talking to him in cebuano, he talks back to me in english. he keeps asking about me, and i keep trying to steer his questions back to the gospel. to talk about the gospel, but not me! he tells me he’s a retired professor, and his wife has died. he asks if i’m single, how old i am, where i’m from, etc. i’m trying to bring it back to the gospel. finally he says, “i’m getting old, and i’m looking for someone to take care of me…where are you from again?” haha. i was trying so hard to NOT laugh. luckily they gave us the cake we ordered right at that time (divine, inspired timing!) and i politely bid farewell to the old man. meanwhile all the bakery workers smiled to themselves as we walked away. it was truly a hilarious experience. my companion and i are still laughing about it all these days later!
  • awkward #2: the superstitions that i hear. like, if you eat the leftovers of a pregnant person you’ll fall asleep. or, if you drop a fork you have a male visitor coming. if its a spoon you have a female visitor coming! i just always think of mom ragging on all these “old wives tales” and that’s exactly what it is! these people need the gospel! haha
  • awesome: experiencing the gift of tongues tangibly. i testify that in the past, words truly have been put into my mouth. but this week, when trying to express some thoughts that are difficult to say in cebuano, i literally felt my mouth being moved. it was like a subtle tingling sensation around my lips that helped for form my mouth in the way needed to pronounce the words. it only lasted for a split second, but it was so tangible. it really strengthens my testimony that the HF is very aware of me and my situation and He never fails to help and bless His children!
  • tender mercy: remember who my patriarchal blessing mysteriously disappeared. well very very long story short, it was returned to me this week! i’m so grateful! i knew it would find its way back to me the second i realized it was missing! i’m grateful its back in my possession, and hopefully hasn’t been read. the Lord is so merciful!
  • i’m almost out of time. sorry this email is short-ish. i just want to say that i am so happy! so happy with everything in my life right now! great leaders, wonderful companion, clean water, safe food, and wonderful investigator. i feel so blessed to be serving. i am so grateful for this gospel! i KNOW its true! i tell people all the time that if I didn’t know that our message was true, I wouldn’t have come on the mission. and that’s 10000% true! Because its true, I’m here, and i’m sharing the good news with others!

i love you all! thank you for your support of me! i feel your prayers and fasting. I LOVE YOU

until next week!

love,

sister brereton 🙂

DSCN5606 DSCN5604 DSCN5580 DSCN5567

Leave a Reply

